Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Sopes

on July 31, 2017

I tried Mexican sopes in the air fryer tonight.  I just realized I didn’t take a picture of the finished dish!  Oh well.

Sopes start as small tortillas made from masa, cooked on a griddle.  They’re made a little thicker, and when cool enough to handle, the edges are pinched up (sort of like crimping pie crust).

DSC01542

I filled them with refried beans, roasted veggies (sweet potato, green pepper, onion and jalapeno) and topped with cheese and salsa.   I put them in the air fryer for a few minutes to melt the cheese and crisp them up a little.

The filling was good but I did not like the masa.  I used Quaker brand.  Even after cooking I thought it had a raw flavor and I just did not like the way it tasted.  I’ll have to try a different brand.

Leave a Reply

