Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Gardein Mini Crabless Cakes

on May 24, 2017

I finally found a Gardein product that I like, their crabless cakes!  I had some on salad for Meatless Monday dinner.  They are a little pricey, about $4 for a bag of 10, but not outrageous either.  I want to try them in a California roll.

image

We also had sourdough bread.  I haven’t had much luck handling the dough from no-knead recipes, it is just too liquid.  I found this recipe, that doesn’t require preparation the day before, and gave it a try, adding a little more flour for a stiffer dough, along with 1/4 teaspoon of yeast.  I mixed it in my bread machine then transferred the dough to a bowl for rising.

image

It turned out shaped like a boule instead of flat!  I was so excited.  I think since the dough is not as wet, it has a finer crumb and not as “holey” as other recipes.  I want to try specialty flours to see if they make any difference in texture and flavor.

image

Last week I gave corn cooked in the air fryer a try.  People in the vegan air fryer group on Facebook that I belong to have been raving about it.  I didn’t see what was so great.  It was on the dry side, even though I lightly coated the corn with oil.  I’m going to try the instant pot next time.

image

Save

One response to “Meatless Monday – Gardein Mini Crabless Cakes

  1. crabcakes (sans crab!) looks amazing!!

Leave a Reply

