Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Home Chef Mushroom Pot Pie

on May 16, 2017

Tonight we had the second meal from our Home Chef box, mushroom pot pie.  The kit came with veggies (mushrooms, duh, carrots, potatoes, onion, garlic, peas), puff pastry, vegetable seasoning, and cornstarch.

DSCN9143

I did some chopping earlier in the day so I wouldn’t have as much to do at dinner.  It seemed like a lot for two people.

DSCN9144

I managed to fit most of the filling into the ramekins, but saved some for leftovers.  Puff pastry goes on top and it’s baked for 20 minutes.

DSCN9145

Here’s what the filling looks like.  I thought it was just OK.  Maybe more pepper would help, or thyme.  I didn’t add salt since the miso is salty.

DSCN9147

We have one more meal to try from the box.  I’m skipping this week since there wasn’t anything on the menu that particularly struck my fancy.  If you want to give Home Chef a try, you can click here for my referral code.  It gives you $30 off plus I get $30 credit.  I looked into some other similar companies like Blue Apron, Plated, Hello Fresh, etc., and either they were a lot pricier or their selections were not as appealing as Home Chef.

Leave a Reply

