Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

The Struggle is Real

on March 30, 2017

Tonight was a “cheat” dinner with frozen entrees, and air fried kale chips on the side.  Trader Joe’s frozen black bean and corn enchiladas and Aldi pre-washed kale.  While I was eating, I read the ingredients on the enchiladas and they have tofu in them!  I will have to try making my own and freezing them.

DSCN9054

Many nights I don’t know what I’m going to have for dinner until I start pulling ingredients out of the refrigerator.  Last night we had linguini with asparagus, lemon, and panko & walnut topping.

DSCN9053

It has been hard for me lately to get motivated about dinner because during the day I’m a caregiver and by the time dinner rolls around, I’ve either had it or about had it.  I made a big batch of curry peanut sauce from “Isa Does It,” though, and used that a lot to throw dinners together.  Here with udon noodles, air fried grated carrots, broccoli, cauliflower and rotisserie chicken.

DSCN9039

Also with stir-fried veggies and air-fried tofu, over leftover brown rice.

DSCN9051

More noodles with rotisserie chicken

DSCN9044

One night I took a break from curry and had tamales with cottage cheese and steamed veggies.

DSCN9043

/And croque monsieur sandwiches topped with bechamel and cheddar cheese.

DSCN9036

Here’s what’s hard for me.  Hubby eats too fast and that makes him susceptible to choking.  By the time I watched him eat his dinner safely, I had only taken a few bites of my sandwich and most of it had become lukewarm.  This is what is so discouraging to me about dinner and has sapped my motivation.

DSCN9037

To cheer myself up, I make desserts.  This was a chocolate peanut butter pie called Texas Flood Pie.  It has dark chocolate ganache on the bottom, peanut butter mousse for the filling, milk chocolate  mousse, and marshmallows, pecans and chocolate chips.  I sprinkled that on top instead of making it a layer under the ganache.  It is really rich and definitely cures the blues.

DSCN9040

 

 

3 responses to “The Struggle is Real

  1. Denise Lowry says:

    Try not to feel bad, Di. My dinners are not nearly as “complete” as yours. I, too, have lost my mojo for cooking after a long day at work dealing with unruly and emotionally disturbed kids.
    Nothing wrong with prepared meals. It’s called self-care.

    • Diane says:

      Thanks for the encouragement. He is also too skinny and that adds to the frustration, that no matter what I cook or feed him, he doesn’t gain weight.

  2. maryeaudet says:

    I am so glad you liked the pie. I do understand – my mother lived with me before she passed and it was very difficult to every get a hot (lukewarm?) meal let alone a decent rest. I had several kids at home in addition. The benefit of choosing to give yourself away like this is that you develop a richness inside that most people don’t have. Do what you need to do to create a little space for yourself. ❤ (Marye… RestlessChipotle.com)

Leave a Reply

