Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

I Love Aldi

on March 7, 2017

Wherever I end up living next, I’d like to be able to go grocery shopping without it taking half the afternoon.  It’s not like I live that far from town, just that if I’m going to make the trip, I like to get as much done as possible.  One good thing is that we have Aldi now.  Before, we were limited to basically two choices.  Walmart or Brookshires/Super One/Fresh (same parent company).

By the time I got home yesterday and dealt with unloading groceries and everything else that needed to be done, I just wanted to have cereal for dinner.  I ended up making grilled ham and cheese sandwiches, with ingredients mostly from Aldi.

image

There was a bread there I hadn’t seen before.  It is huge, one slice makes one sandwich.

image

I used just a little butter on the outside and cooked them in the foreman grill.  Unsalted butter was on sale for 99 cents a pound!

image

Served with air fried fries made with potatoes from Aldi.  A ten pound bag is just over $3.

I have been having a hard time lately being enthusiastic about cooking.  Today I prepped a bunch of veggies in hopes of being able to easily throw something together.  I have cauliflower grated for “rice” as well as grated carrots and broccoli stems.  Tomorrow I’m going to make curry and peanut sauces to have on hand.

 

Leave a Reply

