Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday & Catching Up

on February 28, 2017

In the Vegan Air Frying Facebook group I’m in, someone posted about air frying matchstick carrots.  I tried it with grated carrots, and used it as a topper for Morningstar Farms Buffalo Chik burgers.  The carrots add a sweet flavor.

dscn9008

Other things I’ve tried recently include soy sauce eggs, marinating hard-boiled eggs in a water & soy sauce mixture.  I only used about 3 tablespoons of soy sauce to 2 cups of water, so the flavor was subtle.  I’ve seen a recipe based on Momofuku that calls for 3/4 cup of soy sauce.  To me if you are going to use that much you might as well just drizzle it on the egg.

dscn8972

I tried the egg on  ramen.  It was a nice change.

dscn8973

I also tried cauliflower rice.  Instead of using the regular blade in the food processor, I used the grater, which made the pieces more uniform.  It also kept me from going to far with pulverizing the florets.  Here is the “rice” on a bowl of bean chili.  It is “Rachael Ray” style with the rice on top, instead of the beans ladled over the rice.

dscn8999

My birthday was a few weeks ago, and I cooked up Beast Burgers in the grill pan.

dscn8981

Served on ciabatta.  I load up on buns when they are on the clearance rack at Walmart.  On the bun are homemade pickles and pickled jalapenos.  The fries are air-fried.  I always have ketchup because when I was a kid, I adored Olga Korbut and ketchup was her favorite American food.

dscn8984

Lastly I tried a different way of making granola, adding a batch of streusel to the oat mixture.  It’s a little sweet to eat as cereal but is good as a yogurt or ice cream topping.

dscn9005

Leave a Reply

