Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Soy Curls

on August 5, 2016

I have been reading about soy curls in a vegan air-frying group I’m in.  I took a chance and bought a 12 pound box from Butler Foods.  The giant box came today!

DSCN8558

There were even a few freebies inside the box, a package of taco crumbles and soy jerky.

DSCN8557

The soy curls are dry.  They kind of look like giant fried onions but the are composed only of non-GMO soy.

DSCN8559

To prepare them, you soak them in warm water for 10 minutes, drain, season, and saute.  Here they are rehydrated.  Looks like chicken, eh?  Plain it sort of tastes like inariage (fried bean curd pouch).

DSCN8560

I air fried them at 400F for 10 minutes, after marinating them for a few minutes in a homemade teriyaki sauce (soy sauce, brown sugar, garlic powder, ginger, water and five spice).

DSCN8561

While they were cooking, I sauteed some broccoli, kale, onion, carrots and mushrooms, then added the rest of the sauce.  Everything went over brown rice.  Yum.  I  hope I don’t get tired of them, I have enough to last at least 6 months.

P.S.  I tried the jerky and it is really good!  I’m going to play with making my own with the soy curls in a dehydrator.

 

Leave a Reply

