Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Crunchy Tofu Rolls

on April 18, 2016

Tonight we had crispy tofu from a Vegan Richa recipe, wrapped in a sushi roll.  I made the spicy chili sauce too and drizzled it on top.

DSC00894

This was my first time using brown rice for sushi.  You might remember I bought a 15 pound bag recently.  I wouldn’t say the sushi tasted gourmet but it was what I’d been craving.  I liked that the tofu was crunchy.  I was going to roast some sweet potato but it was getting late and I didn’t want to spend extra time on it.  I might try it with some of the leftovers later this week.

DSC00895

This weekend I made “sushi burritos” with some Korean beef I had leftover.  I didn’t have enough for the two of us to serve on a rice bowl, but it was enough for the “sushirrito.”  I added carrot ribbons, snap peas, kale, and avocado.

DSC00892I

It felt gluttonous eating it as one big roll.  It would have been too messy to slice, though.  The nori held up well, better than a tortilla would have.

Tonight Percy got into Meatless Monday by trying tofu for the first time.

DSC00898

 

Leave a Reply

