Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Vegetarian Valentine’s Day

on February 14, 2016

I’ve been craving kale lately so cooked up a pot of copycat Panera Lentil Quinoa Kale soup.  This is a different recipe than what I’d used previously.  This one calls for pureeing the vegetables and sauteeing the mixture.  I love how it turned out.  It tastes like a vegetable soup but the puree makes the soup less watery.  To go with the holiday, I made “toad in the hole” with a heart instead of a circle.

DSC00395

For dessert I made a shortcut creme brulee using pudding mix, that I saw on”The Kitchen” this weekend.  It had whipping cream along with milk, to make it more decadent.  One of the hosts (Jeff Mauro) showed a trick to brulee the sugar, using a heated metal measuring cup pressed against the surface of the pudding, to melt the sugar.  Mine sizzled like on TV but didn’t get crackly.  I also had to rinse off the bottom of the measuring cup before doing the second pudding because I was afraid the sugar stuck on would burn when I heated up the cup again.  I think broiling is a better method.  I didn’t like the pudding either as a creme brulee substitute, since it had a pudding and not custard texture.

DSC00398

Leave a Reply

