Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Catching Up

on February 9, 2016

I’ve been doing Meatless Monday but haven’t kept up with posting about it.  Last week I made a lentil quinoa chili and we’ve been having leftovers all week with it, including last night.  I made a sort of sloppy joe with a hot dog bun.

DSCN8408

For lunch today we had “California bagels.”  I had received an email from Einstein Brothers Bagels this morning for a free bagel with schmear.  After reading the fine print, it was free with purchase of another item.  Because of that I had bagels on the brain.  Ours was toasted bagel with cream cheese, mashed avocado, sunflower seeds and the last of the winter homegrown tomatoes.

DSCN8409

For a snack later I made a spicy pretzel and nut mix from David Lebovitz’s “A Sweet Life in Paris,” which I finished reading this week.  The recipe on his website has cayenne instead of chili powder or paprika, and no cocoa powder, which are in the book recipe.  I did half a teaspoon of each.  For nuts I used half a cup each of cashews, walnuts, pecans and walnuts.  It’ll be interesting to see if we can taste the cocoa powder in it.

DSCN8410

Speaking of chocolate, I saw that Starbucks has a new drink out from now through Valentine’s Day called the Molten Chocolate Latte.  It has chocolate chips melted into espresso, steamed mocha-infused milk, and some kind of chocolate whipped cream and a chocolate drizzle.  The whole thing (for 16 ounce size) has 450 calories and 44 grams of sugar.  I’m going to attempt a scaled down version at home.  There’s also a frappuccino version as well as a hot chocolate.

 

Leave a Reply

