Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Crispy Cauliflower

on January 25, 2016

I saw a recipe for crispy cauliflower that involved dipping florets into a mixture of cornstarch, breadcrumbs, water and seasonings, then baking.  The photos looked yummy.  I ended up adding way more water because the cornstarch kept “seizing” as I mixed it.  The cauliflower turned out golden brown.  I think the breadcrumbs sort of dissolved because of the extra added water.  The florets did end up crispy but I think if I make this again, I’ll mix everything but the breadcrumbs, dip in the mixture, then dredge in breadcrumbs.  I didn’t use the sauce for the recipe since I had leftover teriyaki sauce.  Definitely will try again with some adjustments.

DSCN8389

Our neighbor kids came by while I was cooking dinner and noticed the cauliflower in the oven.  One of them said something about cooking healthy.  I told him it was “Meatless Monday” and that eating meatless once a week saves resources.  I wonder if it registered with him or if it made him think he has a hippie neighbor.

Leave a Reply

