Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Chickpea Salad

on January 13, 2016

I wanted to prepare something that would make our dinner salads heartier.  I saw this recipe based on a Whole Foods item, curried chickpea salad.  I’m currently reading Marcus Samuelsson’s “Yes, Chef” memoir, in which he writes about Berbers seasoning, so I had that in my mind.  I substituted berbere for curry, and added grated carrots.

DSCN8369

The closest thing to injera bread that I had was naan.  This one is from Trader Joe’s.  It’s from the freezer section, and is baked for less than 2 minutes in a 400 degree oven.  It turns out crispy!

DSCN8371

Everything was good, but the berbere seasoning, from Penzey’s, was a bit too hot.  The first ingredient is cayenne.  Maybe a combination with curry would have been better.  I loved the addition of raisins.

 

 

Leave a Reply

