Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Happy New Year!

on January 1, 2016

image.jpg

I started out making a lentil tortilla soup, and changed my mind as I was cooking, turning it into more of a variation of Panera’s lentil and quinoa broth bowl.

Here’s what I used:
1/2 chopped onion
1 stalk celery, diced,
1 carrot, diced1 medium sweet potato, diced
2 garlic cloves, chopped
1/2 cup dried & rinsed lentils
1/4 cup rinsed quinoa
1 14 ounce can of fire roasted diced tomatoes
A few spoonfuls of salsa
3 can-fuls of water(I started out with about 2 1/2 and added more as it cooked)
1 tablespoons chile powder
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon coriander
Dash of paprika
Salt and pepper to taste
2-3 cups chopped kale

Pretty much I sauteed the onions, carrots, garlic and celery, then added everything but the kale.  Simmered for about 45 minutes, added kale and cooked for 15 minutes more.

I garnished the soup with crushed tortilla chips, avocado, cheese and salsa.  I was going to add a hard boiled egg but didn’t remember until after I’d started eating.  Hopefully I’ll remember for whenever we have leftovers.  Love one-pot meals plus having leftovers!

Leave a Reply

