Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Sweet Potato & Black Bean Burrito Bowls

on December 21, 2015

I know I’ve made something similar to this.  Originally I had wanted black bean tacos but then came across this recipe for a burrito bowl.  I went for that because I can throw more stuff into it, making it a one dish meal.  I didn’t follow the recipe exactly, such as browning the rice.  Instead I just put the rice in the rice cooker, along with onion, garlic, seasoning, and chopped kale (what I had on hand).  I added onion to the sweet potato cubes because I remembered something else I had made where I thought I’d like the flavor better.  (I did!)  I didn’t have cilantro but did have cilantro pesto in the freezer so I mixed a spoonful in with the rice once it was done.

DSCN8298

Here’s the bowl with “stripes” of ingredients.

DSCN8301

After I took a bite, I realized I wanted cheese.  I also added green onion, cottage cheese (for protein, instead of sour cream), and a few crushed tortilla chips.  Here’s the bowl all mixed up.

DSCN8304

I liked it with homecooked black beans instead of canned.  The texture was heartier.  We have enough leftover for one more dinner.  I wish I’d made more.  I’ll have to stock up on sweet potatoes next time I go to the store.

Leave a Reply

