Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Seven Can Soup

on November 7, 2015

I usually don’t use canned beans for soup but wanted to give this Pioneer Woman recipe a try since it was recommended by a friend.  Luckily I found some beans with no salt added.  The recipe says not to drain the liquid but I did, and gave the beans a rinse.  I also substituted ground beef,, onion, garlic, chili powder and cumin for the can of chili.  I added water to cover the ingredients (about 1 1/2 cans of water).

DSCN8208

Everything just about filled the slow cooker.

DSCN8210

I added garnishes, cheese, avocado, green onion and cilantro.  It tasted like a Rachael Ray “stoup” (thinner than a stew, thicker than a soup).  A little like chili but with a thinner texture.  I’m glad to have all the leftovers for the week!  Next time I think I’ll try using dried beans, and cooking everything in a pressure cooker, just as an “experiment.”

DSCN8211

Leave a Reply

