Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Tofu & Veggie Stirfry

on October 20, 2015

I bought eggplant at the farmers market this week, kale last week.  Isn’t the kale pretty?  And it’s even a week old!

DSCN8157

I chopped everything up into dice or small pieces, adding to the pan as I chopped.

DSCN8158

For the sauce, I mixed together 2 tbsp. soy sauce, 1 tbsp. brown sugar, 1/2 tbsp. sesame oil, fresh ginger, garlic, a dash of five spice, and some crushed red peppers, thinned everything with a little water.  To thicken it, I mixed together a slurry of water and about 1 tbsp. cornstarch.  My Mom always put the water and cornstarch in a Tupperware and gave it a shake.  That’s what I know so that’s what I did.  In the bottle is Tabasco sweet & spicy sauce.  I keep it refrigerated but it’s hard to pour unless it’s room temperature.

DSCN8159

Served over rice, it’s a one bowl dinner!

DSCN8161

Leave a Reply

