Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Pumpkin Sage Baked Ziti

on September 21, 2015

I finished my Sopranos marathon last night.  I absolutely loved the show!  I’m thinking of getting “The Sopranos Family Cookbook” because of all the food.  Tonight we had another ziti variation, with pumpkin and sage, loosely based on a recipe I saw online.  I substituted half a teaspoon of dried sage for fresh.  I also added some ricotta in between the layers to use up what I had in the fridge.

DSCN8020

I didn’t have sharp white cheddar so used mozzarella instead.  I was tempted to add gorgonzola but was afraid of “what if I don’t like it” and then I’d have a whole casserole.  I ended up sprinkling some on after plating.  I’m glad I didn’t add it because it would have overpowered the pumpkin.

DSCN8022

I tend not to add salt just to keep an eye on sodium but I think it would have helped.  Overall I liked it though!  It would be a lot better with fresh sage like the recipe calls for.  It was a good way to kick off pumpkin season!

Leave a Reply

