Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Cauliflower “Steaks”

on September 1, 2015

I tried making cauliflower “steaks” by cutting slices from the center, brushing them with olive oil, and baking for about 40 minutes at 375F.

DSCN7935

I also roasted some tofu “steaks,” and towards the end of baking, I added some broccoli florets and mushrooms.  Originally I was going to use a coconut milk curry sauce (from the Native Foods Restaurant Cookbook, that has coconut milk, soy sauce, maple syrup, cilantro, garlic, ginger and curry), but my garlic was a little too potent to eat the sauce as a “dressing.”  Instead I brushed it on everything during the last few minutes of cooking.

DSCN7936

Everything went on a bowl of rice.  Not bad, and I like that the stems of the cauliflower are not wasted.  I have a bunch of sauce left and I’m hoping that adding it to yogurt will tame the garlic down a little.

DSCN7938

Leave a Reply

