Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Pasta

on August 7, 2015

I haven’t had much available in my Netflix queue lately so we’ve been watching “The Sopranos.”  I had no idea that food was featured so prominently in the show!  The episode where the Sopranos’ basement is wired showed a shelf-full of De Cecco pasta.  I happened to have a box in my pantry.  (I usually buy Barilla.)

Anyway, we had De Cecco fettuccine with Trader Joe’s puttanesca sauce, topped with a Boca Chik’n patty (12 grams of protein).

image

Sorry, but I like Barilla better.  To me the De Cecco has a starchy, flour-y taste.  I didn’t realize I had become such a pasta snob.

We have a heat wave coming over the weekend.  I was almost going to stop at the store on the way home from errands but worried we might lose power.  What better excuse to use up what’s in the freezer and pantry.  I already found a can of salsa that had “exploded.”  Fortunately I caught it before it made too much of a mess.  If I get lazy or uninspired we’ll end up eating ramen, spaghetti with butter & cheese, and quesadillas.

Leave a Reply

