Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Rice Bowls

on April 27, 2015

I bought tons of kale at the Farmers Market this weekend.  The smaller bunch I’m going to use for kale chips.  The large bunch will be for just sauteing/braising.

DSCN7625

I had been anticipating strawberries too but the lady was sold out, so I ended up making a trip to Walmart.  I found a “natural” version of Coolwhip (TruWhip),, that has no artificial ingredients, as well as some sippy tops for mason jars.  I got the whipped topping to mix into yogurt to make my own version of yogurt whips.  I know it’s not health food but I can’t bring myself to buy multiple $1 containers of Yoplait’s version of Greek yogurt whips.

Anyway, for dinner tonight I just threw together some veggies, tofu and leftover rice to make a rice bowl.  The tofu, I froze thawed, then baked at 350F for about 25 minutes.  The asparagus & mushrooms, I baked for 10 minutes at 450F.  And the kale I just sauteed until wilted.  I mixed up a quick peanut sauce for flavor.  Lots of pots and pans but at least I cooked instead of being lazy!

DSCN7642

Leave a Reply

