Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Pasta with Kale, Asparagus & Feta, and Pea Shoot Salad

on April 6, 2015

Saturday was opening day for one of our local Farmers Markets.  I bought pea shoot (never had them before), kale, and homemade pecan brittle.  Asparagus was on sale at the regular grocery store for $1.47/pound too.  I looked through Mark Bittman’s “How to Cook Everything Fast” and found a variation on the recipe for Pasta with Broccoli Rabe and Ricotta, that called for kale and feta.  Basically you saute the greens, add the garlic, then stir in the cooked pasta, cheese and some pasta water.  Season with salt & pepper.  I chopped everything up after lunch so I wouldn’t get lazy about actually cooking later.

DSCN7533

For the salad, I made a balsamic vinaigrette (olive oil, balsamic, some Penzey’s French salad dressing seasoning), to put on top of torn lettuce and pea shoots.  I found some savory granola I had in the freezer that I sprinkled on top.

DSCN7537

I loved the salad.  I always forget how good greens are on their own, without piling on chopped veggies.  The pasta was good too.  It reminded me of spanakopita with the firmer texture of kale.  Very spring-like.

DSCN7541

Leave a Reply

