Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Baked Samosas

on January 19, 2015

Tonight I tried the samosas recipe from the original “Moosewood Restaurant Cookbook,” only baking them instead of frying.  I’d seen a post on Facebook last week with the baked version.  Thee filling is mashed potatoes, peas, spices and onion.  I added some Quorn grounds (like ground beef) for more protein.  The dough is just flour, salt, yogurt, butter and water.  Everything seemed a little dry before even baking the samosas, so of course the samosas were dry when they were cooked.  I even added a little liquid to the filling.  Not bad.  Not great.  A lot of work for something so-so.  I have some filling leftover and I think I’ll add a beaten egg to the mixture and make patties, kind of like masala burgers.

samosas

Leave a Reply

