Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

New Year’s Day

on January 1, 2015

I picked up a can of Ranch Style brand black eye peas when I was grocery shopping, lured by its prominent display at the end of an aisle.  I was missing my family, who gathered for a big Japanese New Year’s dinner for years.  Instead of Japanese food, we had Southern New Year’s dishes for dinner.  Hoppin’ John (the recipe from the label on the can, with celery, onions, garlic, rice and kielbasa – I used chicken fajita sausage), braised cabbage, and sweet potatoes (traditional Japanese New Year food, if it has chestnuts in it).  I’d heard cornbread is traditional  too but since we just had it last week, I didn’t want to make it again so soon.  I substituted Fritos at the last minute.  Corn signifies gold.  The green of cabbage symbolizes dollar bills and the black eyed peas are coins.

ny

Leave a Reply

