Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Sweet Potato Quesadillas

on December 18, 2014

Last night I talked myself into splurging and picked up a deli sandwich from Firehouse Subs.  I got a New York Steamer, which has pastrami, corned beef, and provolone.  I had heard a good comment about the place so wanted to try it.  It was OK.  I didn’t realize that this is one of the sandwiches with no lettuce, tomato or onion.  I felt bloated all evening.  I like cooking but sometimes it’s a chore.  Anyway, I got inspired to eat at home more.

DSCN7210

I still have half a dozen or so jumbo sweet potatoes from the end of the season farmers market.  I pulled out my copy of the “Moosewood Restaurant Favorites” and found a recipe for Sweet Potato Quesadillas.  (Here’s a recipe that’s close.)  The filling has grated sweet potatoes, onion, garlic, and spices, plus cheese.  I added avocado, cilantro and pickled jalapenos too.

DSCN7215

I made a big batch of the filling.  I’m glad I did, since it’s really good.  Now I have something in the refrigerator that I can put together a quick lunch or dinner with.

Leave a Reply

