Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Veggie Melt Take-out

on December 8, 2014

I ended up picking up a veggie melt from Steak ‘N Shake for dinner tonight.  It has pepper jack cheese, lettuce, tomato, guacamole, onion, and portobello mushrooms.  Everything comes with fries so I tried the parmesan garlic fries.  Even though I ate a few fries in the car on the way home, I noticed that they serve a lot less than when they first opened.

DSCN7152

Man, was this salty!!!!  I think it was the mushrooms.  I looked up the nutrition facts online and the sandwich has over 1,000 mg of sodium.  The melts with meat are more in the 600 mg range.  Why do they have to put so much salt in it????

I’ve had similar experiences with the veggie options at other places.  The tofu sofritas at Chipotle were salty, as well as the Malal Kofta (veggie balls) at Taj Mahal restaurant.  On the other hand, similar entrees with meat were more balanced.

One of my friends cooks in bulk so I think I’ll just have to set aside a day to make freezer meals.  Days like today, when we get home at 5:30, I just don’t feel like cooking.

Leave a Reply

