Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Weekdays

on November 6, 2014

This week I tried grass-fed beef hamburger from a local purveyor.  I don’t like the idea that it takes hundreds of cows to produce a batch of mass market hamburger.  Who knows how many cows the grass-fed ground meat came from but I’m hoping it’s not as many.

DSCN6872

I cooked it up with peppers, onions and seasonings, to make filling for burritos.

DSCN6877

Percy thought it smelled good while it was cooking.

DSCN6874

I cooked up some pintos and other fixin’s included rice, avocado, salsa, and cheese.

DSCN6878

Last night was chilly so I made a miso soup using bok choy from the farmers market, green onions, tofu, mushrooms, and vermicelli noodles.  I got the craving from an episode of “Notebook:  London” (on the Cooking Channel).  Host Rachel Khoo made a homemade “cup o’noodle” type soup with vermicelli noodles, togarashi (spice), veggies and stock.  Every time I’ve tried to cook vermicelli noodles by just immersing them in boiling water, they never cook through, so I prepared the noodles as directed on the package (boil for 2-3 minutes).  I roughly followed this other recipe for tofu and mushroom soup.

DSCN6886

Leave a Reply

