Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Steamed Seitan Buns

on October 30, 2014

This weekend I watched an episode of “London Notebook” on Cooking Channel that featured a recipe for soft steamed buns.  I liked the idea of browning the buns first before steaming, so it caught my attention.  I gave the recipe a try, since I had some leftover ground seitan.

DSCN6812
Since the seitan is pretty salty, though, I decided to steam the buns over water instead of with the beef broth.  I put a little piece of parchment paper under each bun to keep them from sticking to the pan.  The broth method calls for steaming for 30-40 minutes.  I only steamed mine for 15 minutes, and it was fine.

DSCN6816

I served rice on the side to cut down on the salty filling, ;plus some crudites instead of salad.  I want to try this with BBQ filling next time.

DSCN6815

Leave a Reply

