Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Does It Taste Like Chicken?

on October 25, 2014

I’m trying to get my husband to gain weight.  His sister suggested I give him more meat protein.  On the other hand, I don’t want to increase my meat consumption so I’m experimenting with cooking meat in bulk (like chicken) and finding alternatives for me, to use in the same dish.  Tonight we had stir fry with real chicken and faux chicken.  The real chicken is on the left.

DSCN6774

I made a stir fry sauce of soy sauce, sesame oil, sriracha, Tabasco Sweet & Spicy, and Mae Ploy.  For veggies, I had kale, onion, red & green peppers, carrots and broccoli.  Everything was served over rice. The fake chicken tasted kind of like tofu, not bad, though.  I’d buy it again.  I like that you can take out the amount you want to cook.

DSCN6775,

Last night we had “hot dog spaghetti” inspired by “The Big Bang Theory.”  I sauteed sliced hot dogs with onions and peppers.

DSCN6769

My favorite jarred pasta sauce is Newman’s Own “Sockarooni.”    I know it’s sort of a contradiction that I had mystery meat hotdogs last night but chicken substitute tonight.  I’ve tried tofurky hotdogs before and thought they were yucky.

DSCN6770

Leave a Reply

