Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Chipotle’s Sofritas

on October 20, 2014

After about three glasses of water, I’m finally not thirsty!  I’ve been trying to incorporate taking a break from cooking (i.e. take-out) on the days I’m in town close to dinner.  I watched the video “Behind the Counter:  Inside Chipotle” yesterday, and of course, it made me want to go there.  The tofu option has finally made its way to Texas, so I gave it a try.  It was spicy, which I like, but also very salty, which I don’t like.  I got chicken for my husband and his wasn’t nearly as salty.  We also had squash from my sis-in-law’s vegetable garden.

DSCN6746

I looked up the nutrition information and calculated how much sodium my burrito had, including all the other items (white rice, fajitas veggies, tomato salsa, corn, cheese and lettuce, plus the tortilla).  My sofritas burrito had 3110 mg of sodium, and my husband’s chicken burrito had 2755 mg.  Wow!  I only ate half, thankfully.  It was tasty, just very salty.

I think it was Saturday that I made macaroni and cheese from a box.  I got a “healthier” kind that has no artificial ingredients.  It tasted similar to the blue & orange box brand, without the neon orange.  Look at the difference!

DSCN6732

With the leftovers, I had grilled cheese with havarti, cheddar, and some of the mac cheese, with butter and parmesan on the outside.  The cheese and macaroni gave the sandwich a nice consistency.  I love cheese on the outside of the sandwich too.  It has that “frico” flavor.

DSCN6745

P.S.  I placed my Chipotle order online, paying at the store.  It was a lot easier than having to pick and choose all the options while standing in line, for a to-go order.

Leave a Reply

