Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Chili Night

on October 7, 2014

Today I made Autumn Spiced Chili, cooking it in a crockpot.  It has pumpkin, cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice, to add “fall flair” to it.  I soaked beans overnight instead of using canned, and added extra veggies (carrot, corn).  The peppers are from my sis-in-law’s vegetable garden.  Ripe today are yellow & green peppers, and red Anaheim and poblano.

DSCN6643

I used a cup each of dried beans, and halved the rest of the recipe.  It still filled the whole crockpot.

DSCN6647

I served it as a rice bowl with basmati rice, kale, avocado and tomatoes.  I liked it but think it needs more seasoning.  I’ll try experimenting with the leftovers.  Some I want to add seitan to.  I also want to make burritos and top baked potatoes with it.

DSCN6650

I didn’t post about Meatless Monday last night since we had leftover split pea soup with parmesan toast.  I’ve gotten better at scaling down recipes so as not to have leftovers forever.  I think I’ll freeze some of the chili for some night in the future when I don’t feel like cooking.

Leave a Reply

