Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

National Taco Day

on October 4, 2014

Happy National Taco Day!  Sometimes whatever food holiday helps me decide what to have for dinner.  Tonight I finally finished off the Sam’s Club bag of fish sticks I had in the freezer, to make fish stick tacos.  I added some rice that I’d cooked with Penzey’s Southwest Spice blend.  I’m trying to have a few things like leftover rice and tortillas, for impromptu dinners.  It seems to help.

DSCN6630

Last night we had curried split pea soup.  I used a Food Network recipe as a guideline, adding more veggies (carrots, three kinds of peppers, diced potato).  I only used a teaspoon of curry powder, but added a teaspoon each of garam masala and cumin.  Also, I didn’t puree the soup since I like it chunky.  I served the soup (or as Rachael Ray calls it, a “stoup” – thinner than a stew, thicker than a soup) over some leftover quinoa.  I liked these flavors better than regular split pea soup.  Yum.

DSCN6619

Leave a Reply

