Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Happy National Linguine Day!

on September 15, 2014

It’s fun hearing about “National … Day” via random posts on Facebook.  Today I learned it was National Linguine Day.  My favorite pasta sauce from Trader Joe’s is their puttanesca.  It’s spicy without having to add any red chili flakes.  So, we had linguine with puttanesca sauce, Italian bread, and salad.

DSCN6519

I hate to say it, but I was a little disappointed with the sauce.  I thought it was too fishy-tasting.  I’ve had it before and don’t remember it tasting like this.  I still have half a jar left.  As I had said, it is my favorite TJ pasta sauce, so in the past, I would hate to doctor it up so as not to dilute the flavor.  This time, however, I think I’m going to add some extra bell peppers, onion and garlic to the other half of the jar, to tame the overpowering anchovy flavor.

Leave a Reply

