Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

A Day or Two Late

on August 27, 2014

I’m late posting for Meatless Monday.  We had butternut squash risotto.  I had roasted half a butternut squash (diced, tossed with olive oil, baked at 400F for about 40 minutes), and stirred some of it into risotto.  I guess it’s actually “almost” Meatless Monday because I used chicken Better Than Bouillon, though.  (I tried it once with the vegetable version and didn’t much care for it.)  I stirred in a little butter and parmesan cheese just before serving.  It may look simple but it was really tasty.

DSCN6377

Today was National Burger Day.  Since we have leftover roasted squash, though, we had penne with sauteed onions, mushrooms, Italian sausage and butternut squash.  The onions and squash were from my sister-in-law’s vegetable garden.  The sausage was from the local farmers market, and the mushrooms and penne from the regular grocery store.  I didn’t really make any sauce since some of the squash “melted” while stirring everything together with a ladleful of pasta water.  I didn’t really follow a recipe, just used what I had on hand.  I have all these cookbooks and magazines yet I tend to cook by what’s in the refrigerator or some recipe I find on the internet.

DSCN6397

Leave a Reply

