Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Bruschetta Pasta

on August 11, 2014

We have an abundance of home-grown tomatoes here.  Not wanting them to go to waste, I decided to have bruschetta for dinner.  My sister had made it when I visited and it always reminds me of her.  As I was preparing the tomatoes for balsamic bruschetta, I changed my mind and decided to mix them with pasta instead, since there was so much juice.

DSCN6272

I boiled up some linguine, mixed it with the tomato mixture, and voila, dinner was ready.

DSCN6273

I made cheese and pesto toast with  the ciabatta roll originally destined for bruschetta,

DSCN6275

Earlier in the day, my afternoon pick-me-up snack was affogato, which literally means “drowned” in Italian.  It’s gelato (or ice cream), drowned with espresso.  Even though mine had caffeine, I managed to fall asleep for a short nap after drinking it.  It’s one of my favorite desserts that I forget about because it’s so simple.

DSCN6269

Leave a Reply

