Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Homemade Veggie Masala Burgers

on July 21, 2014

I tried making homemade vegetable masala burgers (copycat for Trader Joe’s) again.  The first time I thought there wasn’t enough seasoning.  I used this recipe, adding about half a teaspoon each of curry, cumin and some Penzey’s Berbere seasoning, in addition to what the recipe calls for.  I also substituted frozen mixed vegetables for the edamame and corn.  It turned out a lot better, or at least, more to my liking.  I baked them at 350 for about 20 minutes, flipping halfway.  That seems to be the method that works best for me, for veggie burgers.  I served them on Trader Joe’s naan with some sauteed peppers & onions, and mango chutney (chutney from the farmers market).

DSCN6073

On the side we had some green beans (also from the farmers market).  They go in the pot with lots of colors.

DSCN6070

After steaming, the pretty stripes disappeared.

DSCN6072

I’m still trying to use up things I’ve had in the freezer forever.  I found this lone piece of naan.  I made a sort of cinnamon toast with it, based on a “recipe” a friend made.  I toasted it, lightly buttered, and sprinkled with cinnamon, sugar, and kinako.  Kinako reminds me of family since we had it on New Year’s Day at the Oshogatsu Ryori parties years ago.  It’s a roasted soybean flour.  For New Year’s it’s sprinkled on mochi (rice  cake).

DSCN6068

Leave a Reply

