Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Baked Tofu Katsu with Veggies & Rice

on July 14, 2014

I was originally going to make pasta with tomato sauce tonight, until I realized I have a bunch of leftovers in the refrigerator.  Instead, we had baked tofu katsu, with some leftover veggies (from the panini – eggplant, zucchini, peppers, onions & mushrooms) and basmati rice.  I found a recipe for baked tofu katsu, for my version I did a basic flour, egg and panko dredge.  I added a little five spice seasoning to the flour but I didn’t really taste it in the end.

DSCN6006

I baked it at 350 for about 30 minutes, flipping the pieces halfway through.  The veggies & rice, I just reheated and added some peanut sauce.  I love peanut butter.

DSCN6008

I liked the texture of the tofu.  It needed more seasoning, I might try marinating it in mirin & soy sauce next time.  I ended up playing with different sauces.  I was too lazy to make homemade katsu sauce.  I like mixing the Mae Ploy with the spicy sweet Tabasco.

DSCN6010

Leave a Reply

