Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Pickles Three Ways

on June 25, 2014

I made three kinds of pickles with the 2 quarts of pickling cucumbers I got at the farmers market this weekend.

First I tried a new recipe that happened to show op on Facebook, for refrigerator pickles.  There’s sugar in the brine so I imagine they are a little like bread and butter pickles.

DSCN5730

The second batch was cold brine dill pickles, using a recipe I found years ago in the San Francisco Chronicle.  Basically you put scrubbed cucumbers in a jar, add garlic and a sprig of dill (I used about half a teaspoon of dill seeds), then fill the jar with brine.  For 4-5 pounds of pickling cucumbers, the brine consists of:

3 quarts water
1 quart white vinegar
1 cup pickling salt

Combine water, vinegar and pickling salt; bring to a boil.  Remove from heat and refrigerate overnight in glass or plastic jars.

I made about 1/3 of the recipe for these two jars, with a little brine left over.

DSCN5747

The easiest recipe is one I learned from my mother-in-law.  Save the brine from a jar of pickles, add new cucumbers, refrigerate, and after a week or so, you have new pickles.  I think she waits longer than a week though, they get better over time.

DSCN5748

Leave a Reply

