Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Farmers Market Dinner

on June 25, 2014

Dinner tonight I tried to incorporate as much as I could from what I bought at the farmers markets this weekend. I picked up fresh pintos, pickling cucumbers, tomatoes, peaches, eggs, corn, burgundy beans and cabbage.

market

We had fresh pinto beans, cornbread and cabbage & green bean salad.  This incorporated the pintos, tomatoes, cabbage, and beans, plus onion and bell pepper from my sis-in-law’s vegetable garden.

DSCN5740

For the beans, I found a recipe online for fresh pinto beans with tomato.  I changed it a little by skipping the cilantro (didn’t have any) and adding bell pepper (from the vegetable garden).  I’d never had fresh pinto beans before.  The texture was more like fresh peas.  Hubby likes mostly all beans, I like mine soupy.  The beans are pretty when they’re fresh.  I especially like the pinker ones.

DSCN5736

For the salad, I thinly sliced some cabbage, lightly cooked some burgundy beans, and mixed it all with Moosewood Ginger Miso Dressing.  Tomatoes were at the market so we had some on the side.  The cornbread recipe is one from the side of an Alber’s cornmeal box.

The beans were fun because raw they are a dark purple, and they turn green when they’re cooked.  I roasted some earlier in the week.

DSCN5731

Raw

DSCN5732

Cooked

Leave a Reply

