Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Veggies with Soba Noodles and Ginger Miso Dressing

on June 16, 2014

In inherited some veggies from friends’ vegetable gardens, and that was supposed to be my inspiration for dinner tonight.  Once I got thinking, though I realized I had a bunch of leftovers that I should eat before starting on something new.  I recently bought the cookbook “Moosewood Restaurant Favorites” and had been wanting to try the Ginger-Miso Dressing.  What I ended up making was sauteed collard greens, green onion, , bell pepper, baby bella mushrooms, and leftover roasted hubbard squash, mixed with soba noodles, pan-fried tofu and some of the dressing, and a sprinkle of sesame seeds.

DSCN5685

I had the tofu frozen, from when I made tofu banh mi sandwiches.  I’ve read that freezing tofu dramatically changes the texture.  It really does!  It makes it chewy like aburaage (“brown bag sushi“).

Love the dressing!  It’s supposed to be good on steamed vegetables, as well as salad.  The only thing I would change is less sesame oil, the flavor can be overpowering.

Leave a Reply

