Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Strawberry Kale Salad

on May 19, 2014

I’ve been anxious to try this recipe ever since I saw it online, for Strawberry Kale Salad with Granola Croutons.  I was able to pick up the ingredients I didn’t already have, at the farmers market this weekend.  Besides kale, the salad has strawberries, radishes, goat cheese, with a honey mustard vinaigrette and savory granola.

DSCN5363

The recipe calls for “massaging” the kale, basically smushing it a little with your hands.  It brightens the color and makes it fragrant.  Personally, I like the kale “plain.”  It’s crunchier and doesn’t have the wilted spinach texture that massaged does.  I loved this salad, all the colors, flavors and textures.  The only thing I didn’t like was that there was too much fennel seed in the granola for my taste.  Also too much oil.

We also had a gorditas filled with cheese and tamarind chutney.  The gorditas are from a local Mexican grocery store.  They’re thick enough that I can split them apart with a knife.  The way they serve them at the cafe at the store, they don’t cut all the way through, sort of like pita.

DSCN5365

Leave a Reply

