Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Friday Night Pizza

on May 16, 2014

This pizza was so much fun to make.  I googled “turnip and fava bean pizza,” and came across recipes for either only fava beans or only turnips.  I kind of combined recipes and came up with this.

DSCN5320

I rolled out pizza dough, let it rise for an hour, then brushed it with olive oil and sprinkled on chopped garlic.  I added a layer of provolone slices, sprinkled on fava beans, diced turnips (tossed with olive oil and grated parmesan), crumbled goat cheese, shaved parmesan (with a potato peeler), and fresh ground pepper.  Baked at 400F for 15-20 minutes.  (Lots of recipes call for higher temperatures but I’ve found with my oven, the toppings get burnt before the crust gets cooked through.)

DSCN5324

I think knowing the veggies were from local farmers made the pizza taste even better.  And shaving the parmesan vs. grating it, kept it from getting too charred.  I have more dough left and will be trying this with other veggie combinations.

Leave a Reply

