Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Pasta with Turnip Greens

on May 12, 2014

I went to the Rose City Farmers Market on Saturday and did a big splurge.  I bought turnips, kale, fig & black pepper goat cheese, caramel yogurt, granola, strawberries, a t-shirt and picked up a homemade treat for my dog Percy.  Since the farm that sells the turnips is organic, I feel good about eating the greens.

DSCN5257

I googled “turnips” and “pasta” and found a recipe for Pasta with Turnip Greens.  I loosely followed the recipe, adding tomato 9since I had one to use up) and skipped the anchovies (since I didn’t have any).  It’s a simple dish but just what I was craving.

DSCN5276

I garnished it with some parmesan cheese.  I think it would have been better with the anchovies, for “umami,” but it was OK without it too.

DSCN5279

I make my own dog treats.  My dog Percy loves them, as do his friends.  Many people said I should start a dog treat business.  I could probably do good business at the farmers market too.  But…when I made some for friends, I realized what a big endeavor it would be.  One oven’s worth would yield maybe 3-5 bags, depending on how big they were.  For now, I think I’ll stick to small batches.  If a friend or two wants them, it’s easy enough to handle.  Or maybe I’ll go the route of marketing them as “small batch.”

The reason I bring this up is that one friend wondered what the treats taste like to humans.  I tried one, since the ingredients are only wheat flour, oats, peanut butter and water, and the treats really do smell good.  They tasted like a bland cracker to me, which gave me the idea to try making crackers from the recipe.  I thought homemade crackers would go well with the goat cheese from the market.  The changes I made were to substitute almond butter for peanut butter (thinking it would pair better with cheese), add a teaspoon of salt and 2 teaspoons of sugar.  I rolled the dough thinner and cut into squares with a pastry cutter.

DSCN5280

Since they are thinner than dog treats, I baked them at 325 F for 20 minutes a side, then left them in the oven for a few hours (after turning the oven off) to get extra crispy.

DSCN5281

Not bad!  I’ll try them out tomorrow with the goat cheese.

Leave a Reply

