Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Curried Red Lentil, Kale and Sweet Potato Soup

on April 14, 2014

Sometimes I get an idea for dinner by typing in what ingredients I want to use, and seeing what comes up.  Last night, I googled “lentil sweet potato kale) and found a recipe for Curried Red Lentil, Kale and Sweet Potato Soup.   It came together quickly, most of the time was for simmering.  I made biscuits to go along with it.  It just seemed easier than making bread, plus I wanted to experiment with a new butter to shortening ratio.  (I used 7/8 cup flour, 2.5 tsp. baking powder, a dash of salt, 1 tsp. sugar, 1.5 tbsp. shortening, 2 tbsp. butter and 3/8 cup milk, to make 6 small biscuits.)  When I tasted the soup for seasoning, without the kale, I was pessimistic.  But once the kale was added, it was so much better.

DSCN4937

Today wasn’t completely meatless.  We had a little bit of bacon for lunch, on top of deviled eggs.  A recent episode of “Heartland Table” featured “Steakhouse Eggs,” with a topping of bread crumbs, bacon and nori.  I changed the recipe a little.  I didn’t heat up the eggs since they were still warm from being cooked.  And I used panko breadcrumbs sauteed in butter, instead of bacon fat.  The recipe calls for an entire sheet of nori.  That seems a bit much.  I used one piece of Korean nori (I was going to use ajitsuke nori but I already had the other nori open), for 2 eggs.  The package is pictured in the photo.  I also sprinkled the eggs with a little togarashi (chili powder).  Yum.  This would be a pretty dish for Easter.

DSCN4932

Leave a Reply

