Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Migas and Sugar Cream Pie

on April 7, 2014

Tonight was one of those nights that I had no idea what I was having for dinner until I opened the refrigerator.  Originally I was going to make rice bowls again but I just didn’t feel like that.  I ended up making migas, from Robb Walsh’s Tex-Mex Cookbook.  It was supposed to be “migas especiales con hongos” but mine was “migas especiales con un hongo” (mushroom).  I was able to finish off some leftover refried beans too.

DSCN4887

For dessert, we’re having Amish Sugar Cream Pie..  My friend sent me the recipe hoping I would try it and let her know how it turns out.  For blind baking the crust, I tried nesting one pie tin inside of the other.  All these years, I never thought o do it!  When I was looking for baking times in “Joy of Cooking,” it was one of the methods.

DSCN4874

You’re supposed to use the same size pie plates but then the edge would get crushed.  I used one that fit just inside.  The hardest part was taking the inside pan out.

DSCN4875

There are no eggs in the filling, just half & half, sugar, cornstarch, brown sugar, butter, and vanilla.  Cinnamon is sprinkled on top just before baking.  I only used 6 tablespoons of butter instead of the 8 called for.  The pie is rich and sweet.  It seems so siimple but I was surprised at how good it is.

DSCN4878

There are no eggs in the pie, just

Leave a Reply

