Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Sourdough Bread

on February 11, 2014

We have had an abundance of chilly days.  Today was good weather for turning on the oven and baking bread.  I made sourdough, which reminds me of my family in the San Francisco area.  I use my bread machine to mix up the dough, then put the dough in a loaf pan for rising and baking.

Here’s my recipe.  I add the liquids to the bottom of the bread machine, which is adding ingredients from the top down.  I had another bread machine which was the opposite, meaning adding the flour first and liquids last.

1 cup starter
1/2 cup milk
2 tbsp. olive oil
2 tbsp. sugar
1 tsp. salt
3 cups bread flour
1 1/2 tsp. yeast

I baked the loaf in a 375F oven for 30 minutes, tenting it with foil when it started to brown.

DSCN4515

 

Leave a Reply

