Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Ribollita

on February 3, 2014

“The Heart of the Plate” by Mollie Katzen was on my Christmas list.  I like “real” cookbooks vs. ebooks, because you can thumb through them.  We had ribollita tonight from it.  I started the beans yesterday.  They’re cooked with sage, rosemary and thyme.  The bean liquid is saved to use as the “stock” for the stew.

This afternoon I chopped up all the veggies.  Cabbage, kale and carrots from the CSA, and onions, garlic, and celery from the regular store.  I had thought about adding potato but changed my mind at the last minute.

DSCN4481

First onions are sauteed in olive oil, then carrots & celery are added and cooked for 5 minutes, then cabbage, kale and garlic fill the pot.  The bean stock goes in a bit at a time to keep it from sticking.  Once the greens are cooked down, the beans are added and warmed through.  I added the bottom of the jar of Trader Joe’s bruschetta sauce, and served it with crostini.  I liked that it was more of a stew than a soup.

DSCN4484

Leave a Reply

