Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Mushroom Wonton Soup

on January 12, 2014

One of the books on my Christmas Wishlist was “The Heart of the Plate by Mollie Katzen.  I thought the plague had descended upon my house because last night my husband couldn’t keep down his dinner or even water.  He’s better today but I didn’t want to take any chances with anything too substantial for dinner.  And of course, I’ve been paranoid all day that whatever it was, I would get it.  So far, so good, knock on wood and all that.  It was a good day to try the recipe for Mushroom Wonton Soup.

DSCN4347

It’s basically mushrooms, onions, white wine or lemon juice, salt and garlic sauteed together, then put into wonton skins.  The recipe calls for just folding the wontons in half. I folded the ends together so I could fit more in the steamer.  I also used quartered eggroll wrappers, since that’s what was on hand.

DSCN4349

The wontons are steamed for 3 minutes, put into bowls, and broth is added.  The cookbook has a recipe for a ginger fennel stock, although it says vegetable stock can be used instead (which is what I used).  I added some ginger, garlic and spinach too, plus a splash of soy sauce and a dollop of Tabasco Hot & Spicy.  Perfect for a day like today.

DSCN4351

2 responses to “Mushroom Wonton Soup

  1. Carmen says:

    Will you please post the recipe? I’d like to try it.

Leave a Reply

