Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Potatoes with “Franch” dressing

on January 6, 2014

I’ve been watching “Breaking Bad” and got to the episode with “Franch” dressing (French + Ranch = Franch).  I’ve been wanting to get back into eating more salad, so I thought I’d give it a try.  If I didn’t like it, at least I’d have Ranch and French dressings for the salad.  On TV it looked like the guy was eating chicken nuggets but others have said he is eating tater tots.  For dinner, I made oven fries, using Yukon Gold and sweet potatoes.  (We also had spinach salad with veggies, cheese, and sauteed baby Bella mushrooms.)

DSCN4310It was just fun to try.  As I was eating, I had an epiphany that it tasted like Cane Sauce from Raising Cane’s restaurant.  I looked up a faux recipe for Cane Sauce and the ingredients are very similar to homemade French Dressing and Ranch Dressing.  Actually I liked the “Franch” better because it has the vinegar from the French and the sour cream from the Ranch.

For lunch, I tried out my new grill press I got for Christmas.  (I had the pan but got the press part.)

DSCN4306

Last night I was thinking that my fridge and freezer are full but I have nothing to eat, so I’m back at trying to clean out what’s in there.  I made panini with leftover Trader Joe’s bruschetta sauce, spinach, mushrooms, and arugula.  Oops, there’s a learning curve here, I have to have the lid oriented the right way.  Warm sandwich on a cold, cold day was good, though.  Plus a taste of summer with bread and butter pickles made from cucumbers I got during the summer Farmer’s Market.

DSCN4309

Leave a Reply

