Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Sweet Potato & Black Bean Low-Fat Tamales

on December 31, 2013

I recycled the taco filling (sweet potato & black bean) from yesterday into tamale filling.  I found a few recipes online for masa without tons of lard.  I ended up combining recipes, using 1 1/2 cup masa, 1/2 tsp. baking powder, 1 1/2 tsp. vegetable oil, 1/2 tsp. Penzey’s Southwest Seasoning, a bunch of “this & that” seasonings, and about 1 1/2 cups of water with bouillon (for 8 tamales).

DSCN4286.

I steamed them for about 45 minutes.  Some recipes said 2 hours, others 30 minutes.  I have no idea what a longer steam time does.  Does it make the masa more tender?  Or tougher?

DSCN4287

I had a little trouble peeling the corn husk away.  Using lard probably helps with that.  Otherwise they were good.  I liked the tamales better than the tacos.  I might try more liquid and baking powder too, because the dough didn’t really get puffy.  Fun way to use up leftovers.

DSCN4292

One response to “Sweet Potato & Black Bean Low-Fat Tamales

  1. Ani says:

    I had black bean and sweet potatoes at a Mexican restaurant last night and they were amazing! covered in mole sauce – yum!

Leave a Reply

