Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

(Almost) Meatless Monday

on December 30, 2013

“Almost” because I used meat as a “seasoning” for burritos.  I hate to admit it, but I like hamburger with packaged taco seasoning for burritos.  I like to add lots of beans, rice and other goodies, though, so it’s mostly other stuff and not all meat.  The tacos were vegetarian, though.  (I saw a recipe this morning for Sweet Potato and Black Bean tacos.)

Sweet potatoes and onions are seasoned with cumin, chile powder, cayenne and lime juice, then roasted in a 400 degree oven for 25 minutes.

DSCN4276

The recipe calls for mixing the sweet potatoes with black beans and salsa, but I kept everything separate.  Plus I didn’t add salsa because I noticed the black beans I bought (La Costena brand) were already seasoned.  Add cheese, lettuce, avocado, and dinner is ready.  (I forgot the sour cream!!!  I’m so mad, I had even bought some just for the burritos.)

DSCN4280

One response to “(Almost) Meatless Monday

  1. Carmen says:

    The sweet potato hash looks fantastic! I know what you mean about forgetting a really special ingredient. I made Thai coconut soup once and forgot the coconut milk. I was soooo frustrated since I made it for company. I made it again 2 days ago and the coconut milk was the first thing I put on the counter. Thank you for sharing your cooking with us!

Leave a Reply

